Changing room drama

My mom has lost so much weight over the last two years…. she’s down to 127#, which for some doesn’t seem all that bad but consider by height/weight standards she should be around 150#. She’s skinny and tiny and frail.

Needless to say, that means my Dad has had to constantly be buying her new clothes to fit her changing weight. One of the struggles has been finding a bra that fits mostly because she doesn’t know how to adjust herself in the bra and keep herself in place.

Then of course, she doesn’t want to take it off as soon as we get it on her. So she sleeps in it now as well. We needed a solution that was comfortable for long term wear and fit well.

So….I decided today that she needed a soft sports bra. Ought to be easy right? Well….at first it went okay but 3rd bra trial in the changing room and my sweet, gentle mama started cussing me out and the most amazing thing happened.

My “Mother Mode” took over and I grabbed her agitated hands and looked her straight in the eyes and sternly told her, “that was enough of that and she was going to stop it right now“. She glared at me as an angry child would but she stopped cussing at me and cooperated begrudgingly.

I asked her if she was mad at me and she said, Yes. I told her she could be mad all she wants but she was going to behave. She glared at me some more so I leaned in and kissed her and told her I loved her. She promptly hugged me and told me she loved me too and things were all better.

We left the store with her happy, laughing and wearing a new comfortable bra. I’m learning that being with her full time is a balance between daughter and parent but the bottom line is this…. when she looks me in the eye and earnestly tells me she loves me….. it’s worth every emotional minute to be able to give back to the woman who spent her life invested in her husband and children.

Leave a comment